• 05/01/2023
  • By binternet
  • 264 Views

United States: Schools ban the Squid Game costume on Halloween<

Published

For schools in New York State, the disguise and the series from which it comes are too violent for the students.

The costumes inspired by the South Korean series Squid Game are popular for Halloween, but schools in New York State have decided to ban them, deeming the hit Netflix series too violent for them children.USA: Schools ban Squid Game costume on Halloween USA: Schools ban Squid Game costume on Halloween

“Violent messages”

In the United States, to mark the tradition of Halloween, children are allowed to go to class in costume for the last day of school before the celebration, which this year falls on a Sunday.

But in the Fayetteville-Manlius school district, located in upstate New York and which has six schools, including three elementary, costumes inspired by the Squid Game series will not be eligible of the city on Friday "because of the violent messages they can inspire," said its superintendent, Craig Tice, in a statement sent to the media, including AFP.

US Schools Ban Squid Game costume on Halloween

The series, which has become a worldwide phenomenon, features characters from the marginalized fringes of South Korea who compete in traditional children's games, such as "1-2-3 sun", to win a huge sum of money. 'money. But the losers are killed as the trials progress, in scenes of great violence.

Like hot cakes

In the series, all the players wear green tracksuits that make them look like prisoners, while their guards and executioners are dressed in a fuchsia jumpsuit and wear black masks, on which a triangle appears, a circle or a square according to their rank. So many possible accessories to dress up for Halloween, and which have been going like hot cakes in recent days in a shop in Manhattan, New York, where an AFP journalist went.

Usually, schools in New York already ban all kinds of masks or dummy weapons, according to emails received by parents and consulted by AFP.

“Staff members recently noticed that some students at recess were imitating 'Squid Game' games after Netflix listed the series as not recommended for those under 17 in the United States, a added Craig Tice.

“Our principals wanted to make sure families were aware that it would be inappropriate for a student to wear a Halloween costume from this show to school due to the violent messages. potentials associated with the suit,” he added.

(AFP)

• 05/01/2023
  • Par binternet
  • 317 Vues

États-Unis : Des écoles bannissent le costume Squid Game à Halloween<

Publié

Pour des établissements scolaires dans l’État de New York, le déguisement et la série dont il est issu sont trop violents pour les élèves.

Les déguisements inspirés de la série sud-coréenne Squid Game ont la cote pour Halloween, mais des écoles dans l’État de New York ont décidé de les interdire, jugeant la fiction à succès de Netflix trop violente pour les enfants.États-Unis : Des écoles bannissent le costume Squid Game à Halloween États-Unis : Des écoles bannissent le costume Squid Game à Halloween

«Messages violents»

Aux États-Unis, pour marquer la tradition d’Halloween, les enfants sont autorisés à se rendre déguisés en classe pour le dernier jour d’école avant la célébration, qui tombe cette année un dimanche.

Mais dans le district scolaire de Fayetteville-Manlius, situé dans le nord de l’État de New York et dont dépendent six écoles, dont trois élémentaires, les costumes inspirés de la série Squid Game n’auront pas droit de cité vendredi «en raison des messages violents qu’ils peuvent inspirer», a indiqué son surintendant, Craig Tice, dans une déclaration transmise aux médias, dont l’AFP.

États-Unis : Des écoles bannissent le costume Squid Game à Halloween

La série, devenue un phénomène mondial, met en scène des personnages issus de franges marginalisées de Corée du Sud qui participent à des jeux traditionnels d’enfants, comme «1-2-3 soleil», pour remporter une énorme somme d’argent. Mais les perdants sont tués au fur et à mesure des épreuves, dans des scènes d’une grande violence.

Comme des petits pains

Dans la série, tous les joueurs portent des survêtements verts qui leur donnent des allures de prisonniers, tandis que leurs gardiens et bourreaux sont vêtus d’une combinaison fuchsia et portent des masques noirs, sur lesquels apparaissent un triangle, un cercle ou un carré selon leur grade. Autant d’accessoires possibles pour se déguiser à Halloween, et qui partaient comme des petits pains ces derniers jours dans une boutique de Manhattan, à New York, où s’est rendue une journaliste de l’AFP.

Habituellement, des écoles de New York interdisent déjà toutes sortes de masques ou armes factices, selon des courriels reçus par des parents et consultés par l’AFP.

«Des membres du personnel ont récemment remarqué que certains élèves, à la récréation, imitaient les jeux de «Squid Game» alors que Netflix a classé la série comme déconseillée aux moins de 17 ans aux États-Unis, a ajouté Craig Tice.

«Nos directeurs d’école ont voulu s’assurer que les familles soient conscientes qu’il serait inapproprié pour un élève de porter à l’école un costume d’Halloween tiré de ce spectacle en raison des messages violents potentiels associés au costume», a-t-il ajouté.

(AFP)